You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 20, 2009.

Incredible!

I am a reader of Angry Black Bitch. I enjoy her perspective, voice, and commentary. But I also have a secret additional affection for her: she lives in St Louis, my birth-town and current location of not one but TWO of my brothers.

She often covers Missouri news that really takes me back to my Midwestern upbringing.

How about this one?

A certain Missouri Representative Bryan Stevenson (R-Webb City) took to the floor and declared the not introduced so not really in question and certainly not a pressing issue if it ever does get introduced FOCA [Freedom of Choice Act] the “greatest power grab by the federal government since the War of Northern Aggression.”

Oh yes he did!

He compared a hypothetical federal law protecting Choice to Lincoln’s decision to save the Union and end slavery. Negatively.

A revealing hand-tip indeed.

Oh, to those of you who aren’t familiar, the War of Northern Aggression is the preferred term for the Civil War amongst Southerners who long for ye good olde days of codified white supremacy and black enslavement. Before that evil “power grab” by Lincoln.

Makes sense, I guess, that someone who still rues the end of slavery would also be so terrified of any lessening of our tradition of female servitude. Oh no, what about the patriarchy!

Hear the words from the horse’s mouth:

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers