Looks Like Housing Is Going to Shit Everywhere

It’s not just St. Bernard Parish or Westchester County.

For example, it’s also Brazil and South Africa.

“I think it must be clear to all that if there is no equal sharing of goods there can be no equal sharing of power. So for me this equal sharing of goods is crucial to the definition of democracy. If democracy is the right to have a decent life, health, education, freedom and security, then i am a democrat.”

-By Loyiso
Community Leader
Mandela Park Back Yarders
Mandela Park, Khayelitsha
South Africa

5 thoughts on “Looks Like Housing Is Going to Shit Everywhere

  1. Sorry, but we all have the right to PURSUE “a decent life, health, education, freedom and security”, not to just HAVE it. If you want to HAVE it, who is going to give it to you? No me, for sure, I am too busy PURSUING “a decent life, health, education, freedom and security”, for myself and my loved ones. I suggest you do the same. Believe me, if I work my azz off in school to get an “A” and you have no real interest in getting an education and get a “U”, an unsatisfactory grade, pardon me, but I am selfish and do not wish to SHARE my grade with you, nor would I expect you to share your grade with me, if the situation was reversed. Get a life, instead of thinking it’s going to be handed to you because you have the right to HAVE it.

  2. @Antoinette: “Sorry, but we all have the right to PURSUE “a decent life, health, education, freedom and security”, not to just HAVE it.”

    Did you just make that up? I think you did. Or prove me wrong: what human rights document are you citing here?

    I find it surprising that you would come onto a blog about social justice and voluntarily profess that you consider selfishness and personal greed as a preferable lifestyle than one that respects everyone’s basic humanity. Yes, even the poor are human beings! Despite your preference for a greedocracy, no human being deserves to sleep out in the elements, or to go hungry, or to die of treatable illness. When any of these tragedies occur, it is incumbent upon me and my government to correct the situation.

  3. Thanks for posting that, antieviction. I read about what’s going on just this morning and it moved me to tears. I will be writing it up on this blog as soon as I get home tonight.

  4. Pingback: St. Bernard Parish Decides Against Referendum to Ban Multi-Family Dwellings « The Czech

Leave a Reply

