Muslims Wearing Their “Garb”

My mistake. I forgot to throw this up on the blog when it began a couple weeks ago. Now, here it is:

Pictures of Muslims Wearing Things

From the site:

Former NPR analyst Juan Williams, among other ignorant people, has an irrational fear of Muslims, and thinks you can identify them based on what they look like. Here I will post pictures of Muslims wearing all sorts of things in an attempt to refute that there is such a thing as “Muslim garb” or a Muslim look.

If you have the memory of the newt, the statement that got Juan Williams fired and provoked the ire of the above blogger was:

[W]hen I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.

Amina Tariq is garbed in organic Muslim lettuce.

Amina Tariq is garbed in organic Muslim lettuce.

Muslim and legendary jazz drummer Art Blakey often wore the traditional suit and tie of his culture.

Muslim and legendary jazz drummer Art Blakey often wore the traditional suit and tie of his culture.

Madhubala had no problems donning traditional Muslim glamor in her prime.

Madhubala had no problems donning traditional Muslim glamor in her prime.

One thought on “Muslims Wearing Their “Garb”

  1. I’ve been really enjoying Pictures of Muslims Wearing Things. People really need to get over their Islamophobia.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

